Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Strawberry Mozzarella Salad

on March 5, 2012

We’ve been wanting to try out some new salad recipes, especially with spring on the horizon (who-hoo btw…!)) Ellie Krieger has done it again with her Strawberry Mozzarella Salad.

You’ll need:

  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1 heart romaine lettuce, cut into bite-sized pieces (3 cups lightly packed)
  • 1 8-ounce container of strawberries, hulled and sliced
  • 3 ounces part-skim mozzarella cheese, diced (about 3/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil leaves, cut into ribbons
First prep your lettuce and place in a large bowl

 Then make the dressing (whisk together the EVOO/Balsamic vinegar/salt/pepper

Then toss half of the dressing in the lettuce

 Mix together the strawberries and the other half of the dressing

Add to your salad, along with your mozzarella and basil

So pretty, right? I love a vibrant colorful salad 😀

For breakfast that day I had whipped up some Strawberry and Creme Bruschetta

We had half a loaf of whole grain french bread leftover, so I decided to make some garlic bread to go with the salad. Super simple. First I sliced up the bread in 1.5″ slices, and smeared with light margarine. Then I sprinkled garlic powder and grated Parmesan. Easy peasy.

Then I popped in my panini press on high heat for a few minutes. Presto!

 We had some leftover Fettuccine Walnuts with Parsley, so this meal was more than complete.

Now that is a fantastic weekend lunch, I must say!

El’s new favorite toy these days is my k-cup holder 😀

This bunny just loves hanging out with me in the kitchen. Love it!

Off to do some yoga (Sun Salutation is my favorite, my back is yearning for it), followed by Bethenny Ever After. Good night!

Leave a Reply

