Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Fettuccine with Walnuts and Parsley

on February 26, 2012

I’ve been recording on our DVR Ellie Krieger’s show on Food Network, called Healthy Appetite. Her recipe’s look sooo good and healthy, and that’s a win/win.

I had some leftover walnuts from making my Dad’s favorite Maple Walnut Vinaigrette dressing, so I went with her Fettuccine with Walnuts and Parsley.

This recipe did not disappoint. Here are the ingredients, with a few changes (I used more pasta/walnuts/chicken stock/salt, and didn’t use the arugula for plating)

  • 1 box of whole-wheat fettuccine
  • 1 cup chopped toasted walnuts
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup low-sodium chicken stock
  • 3/4 cup chopped parsley leaves
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
  • 3/4 cup grated Parmesan

The first thing I did was cook the walnuts on a skillet (no oil needed as the walnuts are filled with natural oils), for about 3 minutes (be careful not to burn these!) Set aside.

The next thing you are gonna wanna do is boil the fettuccine. Once they are cooked al dente, drain and set aside.

Next in the same pot you cooked the noodles in, heat up your oil on low heat, about a minute.

Then add your garlic, simmer for about 3 minutes.

Then add your fettuccine, chicken broth, parsley, walnuts, and let cook for about a minute.

Then add the Parmesan and toss to combine.

This was sooo good and was a hit with all three parties involved (myself, Sean, and Elizabeth.) I can’t ask for anything more than that 🙂

 

El: “Get in your kitchen and make this now!”

You won’t regret it. 🙂

5 responses to “Fettuccine with Walnuts and Parsley

  1. That looks fan-tastic!

  2. Lotus Mama says:

    Yummy! Great recipes you’ve got. Looking forward to trying some at home with my kids! Thanks for liking my post too, btw. Have a beautiul day 🙂

      • Andrew says:

        I’m stoked to try this. I hadn’t ouhhgtt of adding sage and walnuts to my fettuccini, but it’s a *great* idea.I’d also like to add that it’s great to find a vegan cooking blog that’s useful for vegans living outside of the US; I’ve had some frustrations lately finding fun recipes, only to discover that certain crucial ingredients can’t be found in, say, France. Thanks!

  3. […] had some leftover Fettuccine Walnuts with Parsley, so this meal was more than […]

Leave a Reply

