Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Spinach Fettuccine with Homemade Alfredo Sauce

on February 22, 2012

My little Ellybear is growing up. Any day now she’ll be helping me out in the kitchen. I can’t wait!

Last night I made a recipe that was Sean and El friendly: Spinach Fettuccine with Homemade Alfredo Sauce

Over the weekend I went to Farms Fresh Market

Love this store. Fresh guacamole, scallops, huge bag of parsley for $.50, and that huge bag of spinach was only $1!

While there, I instinctively grabbed some Spinach Fettuccine noodles. The grocery store I normally shop at never has it.

I’ve never made a homemade Alfredo sauce before, but I will never buy it in a store-bought jar again (don’t quote me on that 😉 )

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup butter (1/2 stick)
  • 1 cup Parmesan cheese
  • dash of pepper
  • dash of salt
  • dash garlic powder

First you melt the butter on medium low heat

Next stir in the cream

Let simmer for a bit. Then add Parmesan, salt, pepper, and garlic powder, to taste.

I stirred in some sweet peas (pre-cooked) because El loves them

Once this starts to boil, remove from the heat and add in your fettuccine noodles

This sauce is mouth-watering. Best Alfredo sauce I’ve ever tasted! (Now to find a healthier version that measures up….)

Hey, at least we’ve got spinach noodles and peas, right? 😉

And EL LOVED THIS

Okay, cream means Mama needs to workout. Sean’s watching Michigan State basketball, so I really have no excuse. DVR is occupied 😦

Have a great night!

2 responses to “Spinach Fettuccine with Homemade Alfredo Sauce

  1. Michelle says:

    Yum! That looks great. Lots of green – that’s never a bad thing!

  2. Diego says:

    Yummo! Love the idea of including lemon zest. Will eftinidely be trying this one. I made fresh pasta for the first time last year and it was so much easier than I expected. Lots of fun too!

Leave a Reply

