Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

on February 13, 2012

Ah Valentines Day. I love it. Sean hates it. He complained to me this evening that 17.6 billion dollars gets spent every year on Valentines Day. I am determined to get Sean in the spirit this year!

Starting with Devils Chocolate Cake topped with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting πŸ˜€

I started off with a box cake mix.

There was not a smidge of chocolate left on that bowl when was done with it πŸ™‚

Only in our house is there a random lime lying around.Β  What can I say, I love me some limes.

Next I got started on the Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1/4 stick of butter
  • 3 tablespoons of milk
  • 4 oz of plain cream cheese
  • 2.5 cups of powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup of sifted cocoa
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract

First you beat together the cream cheese and butter

Then sift in the cocoa powder

Then add milk, vanilla, and sugar, and beat til it’s all creamy…

I ended up making one 9 inch round cake and a few cupcakes

The cake we are saving for tomorrow. We’ve each already had a cupcake. El kind of went crazy while eating hers, so much so I didn’t get a pic 😦 Darn! She’s Daddy’s girl alright. (I’m all about vanilla while Sean is all about chocolate)

Over the weekend we made a couple of yummy dinners. The first one was Gnocchi w/ alfredo sauce, roasted cauliflower, and french fries.

For the fries, I cut up one russet potato, leaving the skins on (most of the nutrients are in the skin!) I tossed in some garlic salt, pepper, and olive oil. I did the same with the cauliflower.

Into a hot 425 degree oven for about 25 minutes

We will be eating cauliflower roasted from now on. So flavorful! Even Sean really enjoyed them, and he has always hated cauliflower. Win!

Another great dinner we ate this weekend were steak burrito bowls.

I seasoned a sirloin steak with some salt, pepper, cayenne, and garlic powder. I grilled this up for about 5 minute in the George Foreman.

I cooked up some of Knorr’s Steak Fajita rice (El’s favorite)

A red bell pepper and half of an onion in a tablespoon of olive oil

Toppings of shredded Mexican Cheese, freshly made pico de gallo, romaine lettuce, light sour cream, feta, and avocado (forgot to include the black beans in the pic)

I could eat these for dinner once a week for the rest of my life.

So about a year ago El was baptized and my best friend Megan became her Godmother πŸ™‚ (or as she likes to say “G-mama!”)

What an awesome G-Mama πŸ˜€

Some other news is El is kind of rocking atΒ  feeding herself with silverware. I couldn’t be more proud πŸ˜€

This picture gets me every time!

Everyone have a great night! I’m off to do some more dishes and get a solid workout in to burn off that cupcake. ;(!

Oh gosh one more…

Leave a Reply

