Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Fried Calamari

on February 8, 2012

It has been a good week since I last posted. I’ve been under the weather with this flu turned sinus infection. Today is the first day where I feel mostly back to normal. I’m actually pretty psyched to do yogaย  before I go to bed (Sean isn’t “letting” me run until I am 100%, but he’s right, I don’t want to set myself back!)

So last Thursday night in anticipation of Superbowl Sunday I decided to make Buffalo Chicken Panini’s. I used Archer Farms Tuscan bread, smoked gouda cheese,ย  grilled chicken breasts in buffalo sauce, and ranch dressing. All grilled up on my panini press. They were awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

I served these up with a side of sweet potato fries (steak fries for Sean), corn, and hot mustard sauce from Trader Joes for dipping.

El is too young for buffalo anything and had eaten an entire banana right before dinner, so I made her a plate of fries, corn, and peanut filled pretzels.

I didn’t have anything special lined up for dessert that night, so Sean got creative.

Dannon Vanilla light yogurt, raspberries, and animal crackers. He really is a kid at heart ๐Ÿ˜‰

My Dad picked me up Friday for lunch and we both decided we’d rather go grocery shopping at Farms Fresh International Market than out to eat. Love that place! While we shopped, he asked if I could make ribs for dinner. Sure :). He also asked if I could make him up a batch of Maple Walnut Vinaigrette dressing to take home with him for the week because he “doesn’t want to eat salad without it now.” Glad I found that recipe! Farms Fresh is known for their fresh seafood, so we also decided to pick up some fresh calamari and give it a go. It was only $4.99 a pound!

I started buy rinsing off the already cleaned out calamari and slicing in 1/3″ rings. (Came clean from the store, about a pound)

In a deep saucepan, I poured a bottle of vegetable oil until it was about 3″ deep into the pan, and turned on the heat. When the heat reaches about 350 degrees (I really had no way of measuring, just when it looked perty darnhot ๐Ÿ™‚ ), it’s probably ready.

In a separate bowl I combined 2 cups of all-purpose flour and a few pinches of salt and pepper.

In small batches, cover your calamari in the flour mixture, and then drop into the oil. I’ve heard to only cook for about a minute, but I’m too paranoid with raw seafood, so I cooked it for about 3 minutes.

I scooped them onto a plate with a paper towel for draining the oil. Once all the batches were through (about 5), this is what I was left with!

This was SOOO good and fresh. But something was missing… dipping sauce. Luckily I had 1/2 a bottle of Market Pantry Traditional Tomato sauce in the fridge. I warmed it up and it made the perfect sauce.

I am going to make this over and over again. Calamari is one of those things Sean and I always order at restaurants, and my Dad is known to order it as his entrรฉe.

So I also made some ribs that night with garlic mashed potatoes. And my Dad’s go-to salad dressing. That was kind of filling & exhausting, but at least it was Friday ๐Ÿ™‚

El is kind of crazy for those mashed potatoes ๐Ÿ™‚

That weekend we had so many yummy things in the fridge from that grocery trip. I got a little creative and decided to make some scrambled egg sandwiches.

These egg sandwiches had a Mexican twist to it: 2 eggs, spinach, mexican cheese shredded cheese blend, grape tomatoes, and fresh guacamole from the deli. This was heavenly! Seriously, eggs and avocado are a match made in heaven, I swear. I put these on some of that leftover Tuscan Artesian Archer Farm Bread toasted up. A breakfast I’ll definitely be repeating.

We had a fun Superbowl Sunday with some great friends. We ate buffalo chicken dip, some TGIFriday’s appetizers, Dominos Pizza (gotta tell you about there Stuffed Cheesy Bread with Bacon and Jalapeno. It’s sinfully divine. A twice a year type of indulgence, but sooo good!)

and our friends also brought CHEESECAKE. Sara Lee’s original cheeseckae, Sara Lee’s Cherry Cheesecake, and Sara Lee Lemon Meringue Pie. Heaven. We forgot how awesome Sarah Lee was ๐Ÿ™‚

El’s outfit that day

Could you just…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Last night I made my go-to mosticolli (recipe is in the sauce portion)

With a random salad of spinach/walnuts/feta/grape tomatoes/balsamic vinegar

El’s iddy bitty plate

And tonight I made an “everything BUT the kitchen sink” buffalo chicken salad (Sean still went with a Caesar, I’m afraid I’ve ruined buffalo sauce for him ๐Ÿ˜ฆ )

Threw in cucumber, grape tomatoes, croutons, onion, feta, and a tiny bit of guacamole. It was divine!

I think I love vegetables = to how much I love buffalo sauce. It’s true!

El was acting all silly tonight after dinner ๐Ÿ™‚

And wiped me straight out. After this posts it’s a “Letting Go of the Day” yoga session, and then plopping down on the couch to watch The Challenge: Battle of the Exe’s (can’t believe Wes & Mandy already went home!), and if I’m lucky, a little Real Housewives of the O.C on the DVR. Have a good one ๐Ÿ™‚

 

3 responses to “Fried Calamari

  1. DPC says:

    Calamari looked great. I’ve never made it at home but it looks so easy.

  2. That calamari looks delicious! My man and I love getting that at Red Lobster, I will have to make it for him sometime!

Leave a Reply

