Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

BBQ Chicken Panini’s with Smoked Gouda and Caramelized Onions

on January 30, 2012

This stuff has been literally saving me today! I have the flu and the only thing that got me moving today was drinking this stuff. It’s so gross tasting though, and you have to drink it within 15 minutes or else it doesn’t work.

Had a productive morning at work, but crashed in the afternoon and left early. El and I needed some extra time at home to relax and heal. She’s doing so much better, thank goodness!

Usually I do the meal planning, coupon clipping, and grocery shopping, but seeing as I couldn’t move off the couch last night, Sean did the shopping. He did a great job and stuck to the list exactly… well almost, he threw in one extra thing πŸ™‚

This was on sale for $5. You can eat 17 of them at only 120 calories, was his justification. I’m just shocked he didn’t buy Oreos… (well, there is still chance he’s got those stashed in his car πŸ˜‰ ) El loves these bad boys, and the plastic bear makes for a great toy-bin later on πŸ™‚

He also loaded up on some Chobani yogurt. If you haven’t tried this stuff you really need to. It’s a Greek Yogurt that us super yummy, packed w/ protein, and has all around great flavor. At lunch today I packed up the passion fruit, and it was sooo good! Tasted like tropical ice cream. El’s favorite is the strawberry she ate at lunch.

Thank goodness that Theraflu was kicking in, I had plans for a great dinner: BBQ Chicken Panini’s with Smoked Gouda and Caramelized Onions!

Sean had also picked up some steak fries, so I thought that would make a great side.

A serving is 110 calories for 10 fries! That is not bad people. Baking them is all the difference!

He had also picked up an Archer Farms Tuscan loaf, perfect flat bread for Panini’s.

I started by grilling two chicken breasts on the George Foreman grill, with canola oil spray, and seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

Once these were cooked up, I slathered on some BBQ sauce. Only the best kind.

On a skillet, I had some olive oil heated up, and added a whole white onion, cut into rings, and seasoned with salt and a pinch of sugar for the carmelized onions. It takes about 20 minutes on low heat, so you want to start on these as soon as you can.

You will want to put some light margarine or butter on the outer sides of your bread.

Then add the BBQ Chicken, onions, and cheese

Then on the panini grill on high til’ the cheese is all melty

Sean’s plate

My plate with some leftover Crock Pot Potato Soup

And El’s plate πŸ™‚

El demolished this soup. Apparently I should be making more soup! πŸ™‚

This was a great dinner which we’ll be repeating for sure. The caramelized onions really do the trick!

I just finished watching the season finale of Celebrity Cook-off, and the guy Sean and I rooted for won, Lou Diamond Philips, but we felt kind of bad for Coolio… He looked so sad that he lost 😦 Poor guy! His food looked grossy unhealthy, but really good! Cracked us up when he kept saying “Ghettalian”, aka, ghetto Italian. Sean says if he gets his own show on Food Network, he’d so watch it.

I also just finished watching part 1 of the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills finale, and these reunions freak me out. So intense! Team Adrienne or Team Lisa?? I am so torn.

Sheesh how do I get caught up in these shows! At least my excuse tonight is I am too sick to work out, I already did the dishes, and well, it’s just plain good television.

Off to start a new book, “Prep”, which I have heard so many great things about, and then hopefully get some sleep. Oh yes, and more powerful yet gross Theraflu before bed. Goodnight πŸ™‚

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

