Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Turkey Chili Dogs, Super Spicy BBQ Chicken Pizza, & Crock Pot Potato Soup

on January 29, 2012

On Thursday night El started to become sick. She was coughing like she had a frog stuck in her throat and had a runny nose. That night she broke into a fever. We decided that Sean would stay home from work the next day, and we’d call the Dr. first thing. (We always switch off on who stays home when El is down and out).

That night we had some Turkey Chili dogs as planned with some Turkey Chili I picked up at Trader Joes. Another one of those super easy work night meals!

This chili is great, almost tastes homemade (can’t beat homemade!). We heated these on the stove top and spooned it on some whole wheat hot dog buns and turkey hot dogs.

Sean’s was topped with some sharp cheddar cheese

El’s “deconstructed” turkey chili dog (she so only ate the chili, this was her first attempt at ketchup and hated it… wonder if she’ll be a mustard girl like her Mom 😉 )  We were just happy that she was eating though (always a good sign when they are sick)

And I topped mine with some chopped white onion and sharp cheddar

Poor thing…

Playing with her Doctor Kit Book Mickey Mouse Clubhouse book…

The next day the Dr’s office said to bring her in asap. It’s really close to my work so I met Sean and El there. We found out then that both of her ears were infected. We got her on antibiotics pronto!

That night I offered to pick up dinner on the way home from work. We had it narrowed down to Buffalo Wild Wings and Chipotle. Chipotle won! I couldn’t wait to get El one of their kids meals!

You can choose tacos or a quesadilla, so I went with a cheese quesadilla for her with a side of black beans and rice.

Had to capture this moment. El’s first Chipotle… well that’s not true, she had it a lot while she was in Mommy’s belly!

Sean devoured his fajita chicken burrito, and I demolished my steak fajita burrito bowl (we both skip the rice, Sean’s not a fan, but I skip it to save some calories, especially since we go the chips and guac. Chipotle guac is THE.BEST.)

Sorry, OK, enough about Chipotle… (I can’t help it, it’s my favorite!)

That night I got to unwind and maybe burn a few of the chips calories.

I am finding yoga to be extremely addicting, as in when I don’t do it, my muscles seem to tense up almost as if I can’t live without doing it. It’s really weird. I chose this DVD because it has so many different routines ranging from 10 minutes to 60 minutes. There is a “Letting go of your day” session that I cannot wait to try! I did the Sun Salutation that night.

Saturday night we made chocolate chip cookies again, and a Super Spicy BBQ Chicken Pizza.

Last time I made the chocolate chip cookies they turned out super flat. I read up on-line and kept reading that I should chill the dough in the fridge. It worked! They were perfect….

Here is how we made the pizza dough crust, made exactly the way The Pioneer Woman told us to 😉

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon Active Dry Yeast
  • 3/4 cups Warm Water
  • 2 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 3/4 teaspoons Kosher Salt
  • 3 Tablespoons Olive Oil

First I activated the yeast by adding it to the hot water, and let it do its thing for 10 minutes.

Then in my mixer, I add the flour, olive oil, and salt, and let it mix on slow. (Otherwise the flour flies out of the bowl!)

Then add in the yeast/water combo and mix til combined. (It’ll be super sticky!)

In a separate medium-sized bowl, I coated some olive oil.

Put in your dough and coat on all sides, then cover with some saran wrap.

We popped this in the fridge for 8 hours, but I think as long as your dough rises you’re in good shape!

For lunch I cooked up some Lemon Broccoli Chicken on whole grain rice. The way Sean/El eat this..

The way I eat it 🙂

I could eat Red Pepper Flakes on anything.

Oh and that pizza later that night! We took our dough out of the fridge, and rolled it out on some flour, and added the toppings:

  • 4 oz of pizza tomato sauce (we used Market Pantry Traditional Tomato Sauce)
  • 2 grilled chicken breasts, grilled, sliced, and coated with 1/2 cup of BBQ sauce (we used Sweet Baby Rays Sweet n’ Spicy, like always 🙂 )
  • 2 pieces of turkey bacon, cooked through (we so nooked them), and chopped up
  • 1/4 cup of hot jalapeno jarred peppers
  • 1/4 cup of baby spinach leaves
  • 1 cup of shredded mozzarella
  • 1 bell pepper, cooked on the stove top til soft in some olive oil

This was Sean’s idea. I e-mailed him while at work making our weekly meal plan, and said “let’ s make a pizza next week, any ideas?”

His reply:

“How about a BBQ Chicken Bacon green pepper spinach jalapeno pizza??”

This was soo good, and SUPER SPICY. Next time less jalapeno! (or maybe not… we’ll see!) Sean demolished half of this bad boy that night.

I woke up this morning feeling super sick. I have the flu 😦

Good thing I had some comfort food planned: Crock Pot Baked Potato Soup :). This was inspired by a recipe I found on yummly.com.

You’ll need:

  • 6 medium-sized russet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1/2 white or yellow onion, chopped
  • 32 ounces of chicken broth
  • 3 garlic gloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup of butter
  • 2 tsp of salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 16 oz of half and half
  • 1 cup of sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup of chopped green onion
  • 2 slices of turkey bacon, cooked through and crumbled or chopped

The first thing I did was peel/chop my potatoes

Then I chopped up my onion and garlic. Throw the potatoes, onion, and garlic into the crock pot.

Then throw in your butter, broth, salt, and pepper.

Cook on high for 4 hours (or low for 8). Then mash the potatoes up with a fork a bit, then add the half and half, cheese, and chives. Heavenly!

Garnish with bacon, more chives, sour cream, or cheese. We so forgot to take a photo of our bowls b/c we couldn’t wait to dig in!

For dessert we ate more cookies.

Okay, back on track tomorrow for sure. I am sick, but that isn’t an excuse to eat creamy soups and cookies! 🙂 (was worth it though!)

Also wanted to share a couple of the healthy desserts we’ve been eating during the week.

Here is some light vanilla yogurt topped with fresh raspberries & blueberries

So simple and so yum! El just loves to eat this.

We’ve also been getting some of those Skinny Cow ice cream sandwiches. OK, probably not healthy, but 150 calories per sandwich!

Hoping to get some rest tonight and feel better by the AM. El will be back to daycare tomorrow as she is much better and not contagious. Goodnight!


2 responses to “Turkey Chili Dogs, Super Spicy BBQ Chicken Pizza, & Crock Pot Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

