Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Snow & Strawberry Sauce

on January 20, 2012

This weather be crazy! (Sorry, I’ve been reading “The Help” and that is just how I talk now. (j/k!) ) Great book so far, and I am sure you all know that since I am last person I know to read it!

Some pics of the back/front of our house that I took just a few minutes ago.

Just terrible out there. I was lucky enough to leave work at 2:00 and got home about 3:30. I won’t complain, took me 2.5 hours last Thursday! Sean can’t leave work til 5:30, super worried about his commute home with the traffic/conditions ;(

Luckily El has a DVD player in the car and at we get to borrow DVD’s at work (children’s movies/tv shows/etc), so today she was watching a Mickey Mouse Clubhouse DVD that had singing about “springtime” and “flowers”. The irony.

This last week I’ve been sticking to my promise to myself by taking it easy during work nights in the kitchen. El comes home and is ready to eat right away, so I am all about easy peasy dinners!

Last Sunday I cooked up a feast for some friends and I forgot to take snapshots of the best parts (also, hard to do that while entertaining, you understand…)

For an apetizer I had chips and salsa lined up. The chips were from Trader Joes (really good, but nothing beats Archer Farms White Corn Tortilla chips for us), Pace Restaurant Salsa- which was a hit (and was on sale), and black bean dip from Trader Joes. Never made it out… So disappointing. It tasted like pure vinegar, but rotten? Just terrible. Next time I am making my own. This looks like a good recipe 🙂 (Trader Joes is 75% awesome, 25% wrong, in my opinion! Started following this blog for advice on what to get!)

Oh, and I made some RIBS. OMG please make these ribs. Here is a pic from the last time I made these bad boys.

I bought 2 pork back ribs and seasoned them with salt/pepper/garlic powder/onion powder/cayenne pepper. Cooked on a baking sheet at 250, foil under the ribs and also on top, for 3.5 hours. Next I took off the top piece of foil, smothered them with our favorite BBQ sauce, and then popped them back in the oven for a half hour. Fall off the bone, I promise!

I paired these up with garlic mashed potatoes. Simple recipe: 6 russet potatoes (peeled, chopped), 1/2 cup warm milk, 1 stick of butta, salt and garlic powder to taste. Not healthy, but worth it. I whipped these up in my Kitchen Aid Mixer.

I also threw in some steamed green beans seasoned w/ salt and a tad bit of butter.

For dessert I bought an Angel food cake at the Target deli for something on the lighter side after a big ol meal like that one!

All I had to do was whip up some strawberry sauce on top. Super easy!

You’ll need:

  • 16 oz of strawberries
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup of sugar

Clean, hull, and quarter your strawberries. Pour them into a sauce pan with the sugar, water, and vanilla.

Simmer on medium-low for about 10 minutes. You can refrigerate until you are ready to serve. It’s so yum!

I bought two different kinds of frozen pizzas for work nights this week from Trader Joes. They were delicious! Inspired us to make some more homemade pizzas again. Man, we must really love us some pizza 😉

The first one we tried earlier in the week was called Parlanno:  Italian sausage, uncured pepperoni, roasted red onions, and roasted red peppers. Drool!

El wasn’t a fan at first (later on she was all about the crust- just like Mom 😉 ), so I  threw together some vanilla yogurt, sliced banana, with some life cinnamon in a bowl. She devoured! Too cute!

She loves using big girl spoons/bowls. This was her first time actually!

I paired this up with my favorite side spinach salad.

Sometimes Sean will eat this too, only w/o onion and feta, adding in some shredded mozzarella. That boy has come a long way w/ veggies since I first met him. His salads (at salad bars), consisted of a tiny bit of lettuce topped w/ bacon bits, croutons, ham, and cheddar cheese. 🙂

Last night we ate Trader Joe’s BBQ Chicken Pizza: BBQ sauce, chicken, mozzarella, gouda, and red onions. What they forget to mention is a big stand out ingredient: cilantro. And it worked! Making a mental note of adding cilantro to one of our homemade pizzas in the future.

I’ve been dying to make spicy homemade giardiniera one of these weekends since Target has been out of it for weeks. I love putting this stuff on sandwiches, hot dogs, and even a salad. The guy who won Food Network Star last year, Jeff Mauro, has a great recipe with tons of rave reviews. To prepare for when the time comes, I ordered some bell jars on-line. (Also ordered another travel mug for work)

So excited. I can’t wait to make the giardiniera. Any ideas for what else I can make to fill these jars??

Oh here is my new mug. These Bodum mugs are the best, leak proof, cheap, and pretty cute. I already had one in orange.

Speaking of coffee mugs, the latest k-cup flavor I’ve been drinking is Cinnamon Roll. It’s sooo good!

El is napping, Sean is now finally driving, so I am off to watch a previously recorded episode of “Rachel vs. Guy Celeberity Cook-off” (Coolio is one of the best chefs on the show, too funny!) Later on tonight we are trying Trader Joe’s Orange Chicken and vegetable egg rolls. I’m loving these easy weeknights! Everyone be safe and have a great weekend (despite the scary snow!)

2 responses to “Snow & Strawberry Sauce

  1. […] International Market than out to eat. Love that place! While we shopped, he asked if I could make ribs for dinner. Sure . He also asked if I could make him up a batch of Maple Walnut Vinaigrette […]

Leave a Reply

