Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Best Snickerdoodles

on January 15, 2012

What a crazy/fun week! Finally winter has arrived πŸ™‚

Wee!

“Now what do I do with this stuff?”, I imagine she is thinking.

At first I was really annoyed by the snow. Especially Thursday night when it took forever and ever to drive home from work, even though they let us out super early. Now that the storm has passed, I am kind of digging snow on the ground (as long as it all melts within the week… am I right?)

My besty is about to move into her new house (well fingers crossed, it’s a short sale, but it’s lookin’ good!), so she had to get rid of her kitchen island. She gave it to us!


Super cute, right? We do have space to put it in the middle of our kitchen, but this corner nook was the perfect spot. Love having the extra storage!!

El and I stayed home Friday to avoid traffic and more bad weather, so we took advantage of the day. Played outside in the snow, watched “Lady and the Tramp”, and made snickerdoodle cookies πŸ™‚ My mother-in-law has the BEST recipe and was totally cool w/ me sharing it here. This makes 4 dozen.

  • 1 cup of butter
  • 1 1/2 cups of sugar
  • 2 3/4 cups of flour
  • 2 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. almond extract
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp. sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine butter, sugar, and eggs and mix well. Add cream of tartar, soda, and salt and mix well. Add flour a little bit at a time and mix well. Add almond extract. Mix well. Roll into balls about the size of walnuts, then roll mixture of sugar and cinnamon. Bake 2 inches apart on greased cookie sheet for 8-10 minutes.

I had to bust out the kitchen aid mixer with all this mixing. I could have used my hand mixer, but with my little one running around, the stand mixer was just so much easier!

We didn’t have a cup of butter, only half, so we made half a batch (we also didn’t need 4 dozen!)

I noticed I made them a little bit big, so I ended up making about 20 instead of 24.

Heaven. These are so good. Do yourself a favor, get a glass of cold milk, and eat one fresh out the oven. Cookies are always best fresh out the oven!

What I love about this recipe is they stay soft and chewy for days, just keep in an air-tight container. These were gone in a day (thanks to Sean!) El loved them too πŸ™‚

Poor Zoey couldn’t have any 😦 I wish I could feed my dog anything, I really do!

After baking these guys I realized I truly needed a cookie scooper for evenly sized cookies. Got to love Amazon Prime. I got it the next morning, free shipping!

I had salads all lined up for dinner Friday night, but Sean was wanting “comfort food”. I told him to go ahead and pick up something, and to have it be at least somewhat healthy πŸ™‚

He brought home this guy:

BBQ roasted chicken. Just YUM! Way better than take out!

The next day, after a breakfast of buttermilk waffles andΒ  turkey bacon, I ran to Trader Joes. Left Sean and Ellybear at home to watch the MSU/Northwestern basketball game.

I always forget that I have a Trader Joe’s close to our new house because it is 2 towns over, but it’s only 15 minutes away. Such a scenic drive too. I love that we moved way from the city! Here were my finds:

A Trader Joe’s reusable bag; Organic white tortilla chips; steel-cut oats; Charles Shaw Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon; White Zifandel (Charles Shaw makes really great wine, and it’s only $3!); Pizza Parlanno; BBQ Chicken Pizza, Turkey chili; Spicy black bean dip; hot mustard; milk chocolate bar for Sean; canned crab (making Crab Rangoons again this week); vegetable egg rolls; Orange chicken (everyone says their’s is the best!)

Love that place!!

We then headed down later that afternoon to Hyde Park, southern area of Chicago, to visit my Dad and have dinner at Pizza Capri restaurant. My Dad lives and works at a high-rise right on the Lake as head engineer. Here is a pic of him and El at the front of the building, facing the lake.

Here is his view from his condo of Hyde Park.

He loves this little girl so much he even let her jump on his bed with her boots on!

She was a total crankofous at dinner. Luckily she loved the food. If you are ever in the Hyde Park area, check out Pizza Capri. The food is terrific. Sean had a small Hawaiin BBQ Chicken Pizza, I had a small Buffalo Chicken Pizza (we are so predictable), and my Dad had the Pasta Shells w/ Salmon, and El ate bites of all of our food, along with bread dipped in olive oil and parm. She was too cranky to smile for the camera though, all she wanted to do was get out of that high chair. πŸ™‚

Well tonight we are having some friends over and this is our menu:

Appetizer:

Organic white corn chips with salsa and spicy black bean dip

Main course:

Baby back ribs (making 2!- they are currently marinating in the fridge with salt, pepper, cayenne, onion powder, and garlic powder)

Garlic mashed potatoes

Steamed green beans

Dessert:

Angel food cake w/ strawberry sauce

Off to clean the house some more, get those ribs in the oven, and work out/shower. Everyone have a great Sunday!

3 responses to “Best Snickerdoodles

  1. ayoungfoodie says:

    She looks so cute!
    And I imagine the cookies are amazing.. may even try them out and add them to my food blog!

Leave a Reply

