Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Delicous Strawberry and Cream Bruschetta

on December 30, 2011

Last night I did beginners yoga On Demand (Comcast) for 25 minutes. I loved it! You seriously stretch out all of your muscles. I would like to incorporate yoga into my life at least once a week from here out. I highly recommend this for anyone with any back problems. I’ve never felt better!

This morning Sean let me sleep in a bit but woke me up when it was time for breakfast. I was super excited to make Strawberry and Cream Bruchetta, a recipe I found on tastykitchen.com. This looked like a winner in my book and I’ve had it in my community recipe box for months.

Ingredients:

  • Light butter/margarine to spread on the bread
  • ½ loaf French Bread, Sliced 1-2 Inches Thick (I used Artisan Rustic made by Archer Farms)
  • 4 ounces, weight Cream Cheese, softened (use light if you can, Target was clean out for me 😦 )
  • 1 Tablespoon Honey
  • 1 Tablespoon Powdered Sugar
  • ¼ cups Strawberry Jam, For Spreading (I used sugar-free)
  • 6 whole Strawberries, Sliced

I started out by heating up my panini grill. I then buttered up both sides of the bread.

Once it was heated to medium, I grilled them up for about 5 minutes.

You could eat these by themselves! The smell was intoxicating. Set them aside, (and try not to eat them!)

In your mixer at medium speed, using the paddle attachment, beat the cream cheese, honey, and powdered sugar til smooth.

Spread on top of all your bread slices.

Okay, seriously, I tasted the cream cheese mix and that is even great on its own. I then realized I can make all kinds of cream cheese flavors in my mixer!  Have you had Panera’s cream cheese spreads? Honey Walnut is so good. I am putting this on my bucket list to try to make at home.

Spread some of that strawberry jam right on top.

Then top off with some strawberry slices…

Devour!
These were amazing. So much flavor. Reminded me of strawberry shortcake. I will definitely be serving this up as an appetizer, dessert, or would even be great as part of a brunch! Sean just loved them and he was very skeptical (I have no idea why though?? He loves cream cheese, bread, and strawberries….)

To burn off some of those cream cheese calories I walked/jogged on the treadmill for 20 minutes, then did some arm/ab/squat exercises. Seriously, it’s never been easier to be motivated. I notice that if I switch up my workout and keep it interesting, it makes all the difference in the world!

We all pitched in this afternoon to take down all of the indoor Christmas decorations. (El’s job was to throw around all of the Christmas cards that we took down on the wall collage 😉 ) I love Christmas decorations, but it feels great taking them down. Time to start anticipating spring! Only 2 1/2 more months, right???

For lunch Sean and I felt like salads. A Buffalo Chicken Salad for her, a Chicken Caesar Salad for him.

Sean is totally over Buffalo Chicken Salad. I totally overdid it, it’s true. The truth is I can’t get enough of um. This time I added croutons and diced tomato. It was awesome!

Here is how I made Sean’s super simple Chicken Caesar Salad:

  • 1/2 chopped cleaned head of romaine lettuce
  • 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan
  • 1/4 cup of part-skim shredded mozzarella
  • 1/4 cup of Caesar Salad croutons
  • 1/2 cup of Caesar Salad dressing
  • 1 chicken breast cooked with salt/pepper/olive oil/garlic powder

Combine all ingredients. Done!

El is a wee bit young for salads, so she finished off her PB&J Panini, and noshed on some mixed veggies and croutons.

Sean said this was the first time he had ever had this kind of salad. I was shocked! I told him don’t worry, you loved the Chicken Caesar Wraps, so you’ll love this. All it’s missing is the wrap 🙂

Tonight we are having Slow Cooked Chili. I will post that recipe tomorrow for sure. It smells great!

Off to eat dinner, and snuggle up to a movie. Not sure which one we are watching yet! Goodnight!

10 responses to “Delicous Strawberry and Cream Bruschetta

  1. ms. morsel says:

    Those look like a sweet way to start your day!

  2. […] Strawberry & Creme Bruschetta […]

  3. […] next day Sean and I ate salads again for lunch, and the boo enjoyed yet another […]

  4. Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: michelleandelskitchen.com/2011/12/30/delicous-strawberry-and-cream-bruschetta/ […]…

  5. […] made an “everything BUT the kitchen sink” buffalo chicken salad (Sean still went with a Caesar, I’m afraid I’ve ruined buffalo sauce for him […]

  6. […] For breakfast that day I had whipped up some Strawberry and Creme Bruschetta […]

  7. … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 76004 more Infos: michelleandelskitchen.com/2011/12/30/delicous-strawberry-and-cream-bruschetta/ […]…

  8. … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: michelleandelskitchen.com/2011/12/30/delicous-strawberry-and-cream-bruschetta/ […]…

  9. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: michelleandelskitchen.com/2011/12/30/delicous-strawberry-and-cream-bruschetta/ […]…

  10. … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: michelleandelskitchen.com/2011/12/30/delicous-strawberry-and-cream-bruschetta/ […]…

Leave a Reply

