Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Healthy Chicken Bacon Ranch Quesadillas

on December 29, 2011

The office closed early today  just before our 4 day vacation for New Years! Such a great way to start the long weekend!

We purposefully did not plan a whole lot. Time to relax! On the agenda:

  • Clean the house/ laundry
  • Take down Christmas decorations
  • Home Goods (gotta use my gift card someplace, right??)
  • Dinner at Grandma’s house on New Years Eve
  • Snuggle sesh w/ movies and cocktails with Sean later on New Years Eve (why make plans? New Years = overrated & always a let down)
  • Squeeze in 3-4 workouts (I think I am obsessed w/ Yoga…)
  • RELAX

El and I were hungry right when we got home. We snacked on some peanuts & strawberries. 🙂

I have noticed if I drink coffee in the middle of the day I just plain get more done at night, so I made up a yummy cup of Hazelnut brew in the new Keurig 😀

I then started in on dinner while I noticed El was busy playing in her play kitchen. 🙂 Chicken Bacon Ranch Quesadillas

Ingredients for 3 servings (2 for Sean, 1 for me, El is getting something different as she is our little vegetarian- just can’t get her to eat meat!)

  • 3 whole grain tortillas (I used the Archer Farms brand)
  • 2 chicken breasts, fat trimmed, and seasoned with salt and pepper
  • 5  slices of Turkey bacon
  • 1/2 cup of light ranch dressing
  • 1/2 cup Cheddar Jack Cheese (I could not find a light one, but if you can, get that!)
  • 1/2 cup of chopped romaine lettuce
  • 1/4 cup of chopped tomato (any kind)
  • non-stick cooking spray (I used Market Pantry Olive Oil)

I first got to work grilling up the chicken on our handy-dandy George Foreman grill. While those cooking away, I heated up our lovely new panini press.

Next I heated up the bacon strips in the microwave in another new kitchen gadget, the Joie Piggy Bacon Tray !

I cooked these up too long. Ooops! The directions say for 5 strips, cook for 4 minutes. Next time, I am cooking for them for 3. I must say though, no splatter, drained the fat. I love it!

First lay your tortilla on the panini press (you could do this just as easily on a large skillet on the stove top or on a griddle.

And start layering…

Once your done, fold over, and spray both sides with some of that non-stick spray.

And press that down with the top of the panini grill, or with your spatula on the stove.

I made El a peanut butter & jelly panini! Super easy. Just two slices of whole grain bread, creamy peanut butter, and blackberry jam.

I also whipped up some steamed broccoli w/ some melted shredded cheddar jack cheese. Also some more ranch for dipping.

And of course I had to pair my meal up with…

Ah! So refreshing.

This meal was a hit. Everyone gobbled their food.

Okay, so before I can think about going to bed, we’ve got dishes (usually Sean does them because I cook, but he’s having a blast watching TV, playing on his new iPad, and drinking a Heineken all comfy on the couch. I’ll leave him be 🙂 I’ve also got 25 minute session of beginners yoga on demand, and then cozying up to another Gregory McGuire book (am hooked after reading Wicked!)

Goodnight. I am super excited about what I am making tomorrow. Stay tuned 😀

2 responses to “Healthy Chicken Bacon Ranch Quesadillas

  1. […] is a wee bit young for salads, so she finished off her PB&J Panini, and notched on some mixed veggies and […]

  2. […] is a wee bit young for salads, so she finished off her PB&J Panini, and noshed on some mixed veggies and […]

Leave a Reply

