Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Spinach & Feta Frittata

on December 18, 2011

I was going to make some simple and super fast scrambled eggs this morning, but felt like making a frittata for the first time. So glad I did!

I made this just for El and I, as Sean can’t stand feta, so I only went with 3 eggs. (Darn picky eaters…) If you are making this for more than 1 1/2, I’d double this recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tbsp of milk (whatever kind you got)
  • sprinkle of salt
  • dash of pepper
  • some crumbled feta cheese (however much you want)
  • baby spinach leaves (same deal, you portion it out based on how spinachy, eggy, or feta cheesy you want this)
  • 1/2 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 chopped onion (I used yellow but you can use whatever you have)
  • 2 tsp of extra virgin olive oil

First I whisked my 3 eggs, milk, salt, and pepper

Took a random photo of my Christmas kitchen nightlight πŸ˜‰

Next heat your olive oil and then add in your onion. Let those sweat it out a bit. This is also a good time to pre-heat your oven set to broil.

You have to get one of these onion containers for the fridge. Keeps that onion stink out of your other foods!

Next add in your feta and spinach to your egg mixture

This is the world’s best feta. Salty, creamy, it’s the ish.

Pore egg mixture in your skillet

Add let it cook up for about 5 minutes. Then add the mozzarella.

Pop this baby in the oven (on broil) for about 5 minutes, or until the mozzarella starts to brown up.

Done! This was fantastic. Especially any bites where you got some of those cooked onions. This was too easy. El ate her whole piece! That is a win for me.

My new favorite thing for coffee: Coffee House’s Skinny White Chocolate Mocha. I hate super sweet coffee, and this is very subtle and really good.

Had to run out and get groceries this afternoon. Here was my booty:

Target had some insane deals today, I came in well under budget. Although I should know better than to shop on a Sunday before Christmas. It was crazay!

I also made a stop at my favorite Home Goods next door. It was hard not to spend a million dollars in there. Seriously. Saw a yellow 5 quart Le Creuset dutch oven for half the price as most stores. Still, it cost $179. It’s just neva gonna happen 😦

But I did find two things that made me super happy πŸ˜€

A cupcake carrier! I’ve always wanted one of these. I love making cupcakes, but never had a way to transport them. I definitely seeing this coming in handy for years to come. Picturing El’s class birthday parties :D. And this is going to come in handy too…

How clever is this! It’s for microwaving bacon. I do love to cook my bacon up on the griddle, however, on a work night when I am making chicken bacon ranch panini’s, I gotta have a quick way to cook up bacon. It’s tray drips a lot of the bacon fat right off, and it prevents splatter! This is pure genius.

These were Christmas presents for both me and El in my book πŸ™‚

She wanted at that pig pretty badly πŸ˜€

By the time I got back from the store everyone was pretty hungry, so I opted for a quick and easy lunch.

So far I loved everything we have bought from Archer Farms, so we tried their Homestyle Mac & Cheese today. Glad we did. It’s super yum!

Well I’m off to finish up laundry, wrap presents, work out hopefully, and leave Sean to building El’s Christmas present from her Grandpa.

Don’t you just love IKEA? And Grandpa’s for that matter???

I am already excited about having those top little drawer for socks and headbands πŸ˜‰

Have a good rest of your Sunday. Christmas is almost here!

One response to “Spinach & Feta Frittata

  1. […] pods galore (I love my onion one that I bought at Dominick’s, so now I def.Β  need these too, esp. the lime one […]

Leave a Reply

