Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Avocado Pesto Pasta

on December 13, 2011

So we tried to get Elizabeth to pose for a Christmas photo…

This is her after I brushed her hair… she had to hold the hairbrush, of course… and this is her first attempt at using it. 🙂

I did a quick swap of the hairbrush with one of my necklaces..

Problem after that was we took about 20 photos before we could get her to look up. Wonder Pets it is…

Then we realized we couldn’t get a shot of her looking at us, with also getting the tree in the background. Kid you not, 75 photos were taken. This is the one we chose…. Some other favorites…

She is starting to hate us…

Just one more… say cheese Ellybear!!

Let’s try without the flash…

Let’s try to get her to laugh with her Wonder Pets stocking stuffers…

It was no use… and usually this girl loves to pose for the camera…

Well we tried 😀

I also created/ordered/ and had Sean pick up our Christmas photo cards today :D. Decided now was the time to start our Christmas wall card collage.

Since I wasn’t too keen on most of the photos we took, I thought hey, why not use those stunning professional photos from last summer 😀

Problem solved. 😉

So El has an addiction to rice. Sunday night I made my favorite burrito bowls, and El notched on some rice and beans. These pics are too cute for me not to post.

Well to me there are anyway 🙂

See, she can pose and smile when she is eating, but when it comes to Christmas photos… forgettabout it! Kids are silly…

Tonight I made Avocado Pesto Pasta. It was so yum! I found the recipe at tastykitchen.com. Amaze!

Ingredients:

  • ½ pounds Pasta
  • 1 whole Avocado
  • ½ whole Lemon
  • 2 cloves Garlic
  • ½ teaspoons Kosher Salt
  • Âź cups Basil
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 dash Fresh Ground Pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon Fresh Grated Parmesan

I bet you have most of these ingredients already. All I had to buy was a lemon, basil and avocado.

Parmesan is missing because… I forgot, OK? 😉

Preparation Instructions

Boil water and cook pasta according to package directions.

Scoop avocado out of skin and discard the seed. Cut avocado into chunks and add to a food processor.

Zest the lemon and add zest and juice to the processor. Add garlic, salt and basil to the processor. Blend for a few seconds then slowly add in olive oil. Blend until creamy.

Drain pasta. Mix pesto into pasta and serve with a garnish of Parmesan and fresh ground pepper.

Sean is not an avocado kind of a guy, so I used some jarred vodka sauce for his noodles. El got a combo of both.

Homemade bread made fresh this morning from Grandma..? YES PLEASE

This could also use a spinach/feta/onion/lemon/balsamic vinegar salad… and some club soda w/ lemon (usually I am a lime girl, but this was a lemony dinner, so I went with it)

Heaven…

Pasta was balanced, just enough basil, lemon, cheese, and that avocado just blended right in. It was yum! If you don’t take my word for it, take hers 😀

 

We got our DVR tonight! Yippee! Time to catch up on some of our fav. shows and eat this for dessert…

Sadly… dishes have got to be done first… rats!
Goodnight 😉

One response to “Avocado Pesto Pasta

  1. […] (El’s job was to throw around all of the Christmas cards that we took down on the wall collage ) I love Christmas decorations, but it feels great taking them down. Time to start anticipating […]

Leave a Reply

