Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Veggie Pizza & Breakfast Burritos

on November 5, 2011

Pizza time!

First start out with a homemade crust (it’ s so much cheaper to make your own.) I use The Pioneer Woman’s crust. I made it the night before and stored it in the fridge.

 

Once I had this dough rolled out, I moved it over to my cookie sheet. I coated with some extra virgin olive oil (about a tbsp) and sprinkled some garlic powder (just a few pinches).

Next sauce… (I used Market Pantry’s Pasta sauce, it’s herby and totally works for pizza, about a 1/2 cup)

Then the toppings! While I was working on the dough, I had chopped green pepper, red pepper, and baby spinach leaves sautéing on the stove top with some EVOO, salt, and pepper (didn’t really measure, just eyeballed it).) I first sprinkled some part skim shredded mozzarella, then added the peppers and spinach hot off the stove, then layered on some more fresh baby spinach leaves. Then added a ton more mozzarella, and topped with sliced tomato.

 

Don’t you love the vibrant colors on this pizza?! Popped in the oven for 13 minutes at 475…

Sean said this was my best pizza yet. We really didn’t expect these flavors to be so mouthwatering, but just WOW. Elizabeth was a happy girl!


Nothing was left on her tray, and not a bite was fed to the dog. Poor Zoë didn’t get a single bite with this dinner.

 

This simply wasn’t enough spinach for me. Did the side salad again w/ feta, red onion, and balsamic vinegar. Then I had to balance things out with a Coors light 😀

 

This morning we were up bright and early and I was one of the first people at the grocery store. I was the only customer under the age of 65, I kid you not! Found some really great deals today and used 8 coupons. Good trip all the way around.

When I returned home the fam was hungry, so Sean and I quickly got to work busting out these babies: breakfast burritos.

McDonald’s makes a really great breakfast burrito called the McSkillet. I have been wanting to recreate these at home, healthin these up a bit.

  • 2 low-fat flour tortillas
  • 1/2 chopped red pepper
  • 1 cooked medium potato, diced
  • 4 turkey sausage patties
  • 1 cup of sharp shredded cheese
  • 3 cooked scrambled eggs
  • 1 tbsp EVOO

I first cooked up the scrambled eggs (so El could start eating, she was getting cranky 😉

Then I sautéed the red pepper and potato w/ some extra virgin olive oil, salt, and pepper.

I then sautéed 4 turkey sausage patties.

Layer up your ingredients (eggs, pepper/potato/sausage/cheese)

If you like spice, add some hot sauce 😉

Fold, then nuke in the microwave for 45 seconds.

This was yet again another mouth-watering meal. Filling too. We weren’t hungry for hours!

This afternoon we had some Market Pantry Honey glazed chicken tenders (I had a coupon for $1.50 off two Market Pantry frozen chicken items, so got these along with a bag of chicken breasts).

I also made snickerdoodle cookies, Betty Crockers. Yet again, another coupon, buy 2 17.5 oz cookie mixes and save $1. I picked up these and oatmeal chocolate chip.


Cookies really are the best fresh out the oven 😀

El just woke up from her late afternoon nap, and she is totally getting one of these for dessert after tonight’s dinner. 😀

Happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

