Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

BBQ chicken Panini’s

on October 1, 2011

This has been a crazy weather & traffic week.

Weather wise, we are sitting 40-65 degrees, with a mix of sun and rain. I was literally putting my sunglasses on, then taking them off 5 minutes later. Saw some really cool rainbows though!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Traffic was insane M-W, but really decent Thursday & Friday. So weird. This is what welcomed me Monday morning. Luckily I was about to get off the Edens an exit later, but felt really sorry for anyone driving downtown…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hard to see, but it says 2 hours and 5 minutes to the circle. Normally this says 25 minutes. Yeah.

I also got to enjoy me some Starbucks this week (yay!) Our realtor sent us a Starbucks gift card for referring our good friends, so I met up with Sean for lunch and had me a Pumpkin Spiced Latte & cherry fruit parfait.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then at the end of the week my boss picked me up a cup of coffee, and the editors at work had a Starbucks/Swedish pastry party Friday morning. So good. I’d be lying if I said this was the only pastry I tried. This was my favorite though, not sure what it is called, but it had baked peaches (win)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Earlier in the week we had some Rigatoni w/ vodka sauce, spinach, and parmesan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We still had spinach to use up, vodka sauce was on sale (the best sauce in my opinion), so this was a budget friendly dinner.

 

 

Elizabeth’s:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mine:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And Sean’s:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know. He loves vodka sauce too, but wanted something on the lighter side, and as I’ve told you before, he is a freak about cereal.

Another highlight this week were BBQ chicken Paninis. These were INSANE.

I bought ciabotta bread, which sadly, in 3 days (1) went bad… it said it was a “take and bake” bread, but it looked fully cooked. I am truly missing something here.

Sean came to the rescue and picked up a 7 grain loaf of bread, and we went to work, buttering the open sides of the sliced bread, grilling chicken on the George Forman (Salt, Pepper, garlic powder seasoning), drizzling them in Sweet Baby Rays Sweet & Sour BBQ Sauce, heating up turkey bacon, and topping off w/ more BBQ sauce, a squirt of light ranch dressing, and Muenster cheese (MMMM)

 

 

 

 

 

We ate this two nights in a row with cream of chicken soup (with a piece of crumbled bacon as garnish)


 

 

 

 

 

 

This was not a baby friendly dinner, so Elizabeth ate a hot dog, some corn, and yogurt. Strange combo, but she loved it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Her bib says “Cute 24/7”. It’s true πŸ˜€

Last night I cooked up an old favorite, lemon chicken. It’s the recipe on the back of the Campbell’s Cream of broccoli soup can. Only thing I did was swap rice for whole grain spaghetti (all about using what we have on hand!)

Here is the recipe

It’s soooo good. I like to serve this up with steemed green beans.

Elizabeth’s:


 

 

 

 

 

 

Mine & Sean’s

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Only difference is heartier portions for us. πŸ™‚

This is one of my top 5 meals ever. I like to sprinkle mine with red pepper flakes (naturally).

This morning I made some buttermilk pancakes. I sprinkled the batter with cinnamon sugar & ground cloves for that yummy fall flavor. We were out of butter, so I ate mine with some pumpkin butter from Lambs Farm, and Sean ate his with Red raspberry jam from Lambs Farm. Elizabeth had hers with some sugar-free maple syrup.

Elizabeth ended up eating 3 of these (not expected!) So I ended up with one. This was so not filling. So I made myself some eggs with fresh feta, spinach, a splash of milk, and some S&P: I had a hunk of bread left from the Panini’s from last week.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used this energy to hit Super Target for weekly groceries. I came in under budget as EVERYTHING was on sale. So cool.

Making Elizabeth some alfredo wheat spiral pasta with peas (her new favorite) for lunch. Sean and I are still stuffed from breakfast. There are many dinner options. Thinking we will eat “Lava” πŸ™‚ Stay posted to find out what that is exactly..

One response to “BBQ chicken Panini’s

  1. […] lunch I cooked up some Lemon Broccoli Chicken on whole grain rice. The way Sean/El eat […]

Leave a Reply

