Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Frugal & lazy….

on September 21, 2011

I have not been in super creative cooking mode lately, instead, I’ve been in super grocery coupon saving mode. This last week we ate budget friendly dinners, including grilled cheese & tomato soup (made by Sean the grilled cheese master), alfredo pasta w/ peas, and bean & rice burritos

 

 

 

 

 

We are really all about being frugal, using coupons, and just being plain smart about money lately, which definitely hinders my creative cooking budget! The nice part is we are eating fruit and spinach salads lately as our sides/desserts b/c we are stocked up on grapes, blueberries, peaches, watermelon, and bananas. My dad always brings me a giant tub of organic spinach and the worlds greatest feta when he comes over.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love using baby spinach leaves or mixed baby greens, topped with feta, onion, and balsamic vinegar. That’s all it needs. Balsamic is so good that you don’t even need olive oil!

I haven’t seen the treadmill in weeks, so tonight is the night. I have been so focused on budgeting, house cleaning, and television that I have not been working out. Lame. Tonight it’s happening. Over. Done. Not even going to think about not doing it!

Favorite shows:

The “new” Two and a Half Men

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Loved the premiere episode w/ Ashton. He is so adorable, funny, and just plain like-able! Have you ever seen him in the movies  Butterfly Effect or The Guardian? If not, I highly recommend them.

2 Broke Girls:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This was way better than I expected. I highly recommend this. Really funny and a great concept.

Sons of Anarchy: Best show on TV by a long shot. Love the new season and Jack’s hair-cut 😀

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Who is having a great season. I’m not that big into sci-fi and my husband has me HOOKED:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tonight Bethenny Frankel’s True Hollywood Story. I love Bethenny. She is a natural foods chef, reality TV star, and the creator of Skinny Girl Margaritas (so good…) She was my favorite person to watch on TV while pregnant and planning a wedding. Only few woman can relate to such chaos.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Her website has amazing recipes!

http://www.bethenny.com/food/recipes/

Another fall show to look forward to- Boardwalk Empire Season 2. This show is fantastic. I love HBO!

Perhaps I should spent less time watching TV at night and more time working out, eh?

Tonight we are having chipotle pasta salad, turkey burgers, and green beans. Elizabeth is going to have fruit salad and vanilla yogurt, her new favorite dinner 🙂

Leave a Reply

