Michelle & El's Kitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

Buffalo chicken nachos

on September 11, 2011

This weekend is definitely a football weekend. Yesterday NIU played Kansas and lost by 2 points. Horrific officiating! Luckily I was able to cheer Sean up with Buffalo chicken Nachos 😀

So easy. I used white corn Archer Farms tortilla chips (honestly, these are the best, perfectly salted). I laid them out on a shallow baking dish. I grilled up a couple of chicken breasts seasoned with kosher salt, black pepper, and garlic powder. Once they were off the grill, I let them rest for a few minutes, sliced them up into cubes, and I let them soak in Frank’s Buffalo Wing sauce (hot of course). I topped off the nachos with the chicken, then shredded mozzarella, and popped in a 350 oven for 5 minutes. Perfect! Topped them off with salsa and sour cream. Sean was in nacho heaven. He even called them “phenomenal”. All my hubbie needs is good tailgating food, who knew?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

El had her favorite baby pizza, Ragu pizza sauce, mozzarella, and baby spinach leaves on whole wheat toast.

I also made carrot cake (not from scratch, it was a fluke buy at the grocery store) with cream cheese frosting. The best!

 

I love our purple bunt cake pan. :D, I sprayed with olive oil and dusted it with whole wheat flour.

Dunkan Hines promised a decadent cake, and decadent it was! Sean was actually upset when I told him I was making carrot cake. He was like “You know I don’t like carrot cake…” I actually had no idea. I watched him eat an entire piece at our friend’s wedding a month ago. Let’s just say Sean already ate half of the bunt cake, and it’s not even noon the next day. I guess when it comes to him, cake is still cake, and he def. has a sweet tooth. He says it was the raisins and the cream cheese that made it good. In any case, 5 stars for this box mix.

Also should note EVERYTHING was on sale at Super Target this weekend. I had an envelope full of coupons and I swear anything that had a coupon was also on sale, hence the last-minute splurge on cake mix. It was def. worth it though!

Today I am making Emeril’s Simple Seasoned Just Right Beef Burgers for the Bears game. Speaking of, time to get cooking.

Leave a Reply

